Reblogging this in memory of those who died in Paris – Commandment #3

Posted: November 15, 2015 in Uncategorized

I did not have anything to do with this poem and I don’t know the author except from her blog. But, this says a lot to me. I remember the poems I wrote in Amsterdam during the week after 9/11/2001 and, like those, this is a nice reminder of why religious violence is so insane.

Coming Home

I think finally
I understand
the third holy command
“Do not take
the Lord’s name
in vain”

I used to think
this was a pithy rule
condemning all
who say
“Oh My God”
or worse yet
“God damn”

But now I know
I get it
after a mid-November
Parisian evening
That third commandment
is imploring us
not to invoke
hate and bloodshed
under the monotheistic
bold faced letterhead
“In God’s Name”

If my ear were prophetic
I imagine I would hear
this divine message
ringing like a bell
so clear;

“Not in my name.
Never should brutality
against one another
be for me.
No matter
what particular lens
you perceive me through
Hindu, Jew, Christen or UU…
you’ve gotten it wrong.
I am not for your gain
for you are my love
embodied.
The hands I gifted you
are for peace
for care
for everyone
even those
who don’t believe.

View original post 112 more words

Comments
  1. LeeAnn says:

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

