Min Xiao-Fen and Her Ruan – Looking for feedback on a photograph

Posted: May 5, 2013 in Photos
Tags: , , , , , ,

Here is a quick, and somewhat different type of, post. I’ve tossed a few photos into posts now and then, but I don’t generally use my blog as a way to share my art photographs. If you want to see my work, you can see a lot of it on Flickr and on my NAPP portfolio at http://members.photoshopuser.com/sbilow/portfolio/. In this case, though, I’m looking for some feedback.

Below is an image of the Pipa virtuoso Min Xiao-Fen on her Ruan (or Moon Guitar). I shot this on my Nikon D5100 at ISO 1600 and I finished it in Photoshop CS5 with Silver EFEX Pro 2. Using a mask on the Silver EFEX layer and a low opacity brush I brought back some of the color from the original image into the face, arm, and instrument body to give the final image the look of a “back in the darkroom days” hand colored image. I’m not typically one for bringing back color into a my finished B&Ws. So, I’d love some comments on how this one worked. I’m very pleased but I’d love to know what other folks think.

 

Min Xiao-Fen and her Ruan (Print Final)-1

This photograph is (c)2013 The Bilow Group / Dandylines Inc. (all rights reserved). Permission to use this image is not granted without prior approval.

Whatever you think of this image, and whatever comments you’d like to share, I’d appreciate it if you’d leave those comments here on WordPress. And, for the record, prints of any of my musician images are for sale with 20% of the proceeds going to the presenting organization. So, for example, 20% of the selling price of a print of this image would go to the Third Angle New Music Ensemble. So email me if interested.

Comments
  1. jorge daniel says:

    I have a predilection for cross processes, so to speak, for they bring to my eyes the best of both worlds. Your photo reinforces my love for these blends. It has certain quality that reminds me of the hand-painted negatives. I think is a beautiful piece of work!

Leave a Reply

