More on Kindle Fire – Accelerated Page Loading, the Good and the Bad.

Posted: December 10, 2011 in Computer and Mobile Technology, Experiences
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

In my last post on the Kindle Fire I said I was disappointed because I could not log into my Google applications from the Amazon Silk browser. Well, I figured out how to do that and I want to share it.

In the browser settings there is an option called “accelerate page loading”. It is turned ON by default. When on, it uses Amazon’s server farm to “accelerate” your browsing experience. One subjective, editorial, unscientific observation is that (at least in my case) the browser seems slower with that option turned on. My unscientific guess about why they have it on by default is that it gives them a massive data mining opportunity. After all, you are telling them everything you are doing on the Internet. So that’s a huge data collection tool for them.

My pragmatic experience is that when this option is on, some things, like logging into Google, are blocked. I could not do it when I wrote my last post and I can’t do it now. BUT, when you turn that setting OFF, then you are no longer relegating all the control to Amazon. For one thing, you are not offering up all of your data. But for another, you are not subject to whatever THEY decide to allow or disallow. So….

If you want access to your Google account, your YouTube account, and who knows what else, just go into the browser and turn “accelerate page loading” OFF by un-ticking the box.

Feel free to comment on this post if you have something to add or if you know more than I do (which doesn’t take much).

Comments
  1. AC says:

    Just purchase a Mckee read your post, went to uncheck box and it will not let me Lol. Guess they wised up and locked it? Any ideas how to get it cut off or un checked?

Leave a Reply

